Kelly Sweet – We Are One

专辑名称:We Are One
歌手姓名:Kelly Sweet
唱片公司:Razor & Tie
发行日期:March 6, 2007



Not your typical pop record in any way, shape or form, WE ARE ONE has a much more ambitious sensibility than those being heard on Top 40 radio today. With songs sung in English, Italian, French, and Sanskrit, and melodies that partake of both jazz and classical influences, WE ARE ONE conveys a sense of depth, intimacy and sophistication not often heard in today’s pop landscape. The magnificent “Giorno Dopo Giorno” couples Sweet’s soaring vocals with a thrilling string arrangement, bringing listeners the kind of intense joy that can usually only be experienced in the world’s finest opera houses. “The song originally had English lyrics,” says Sweet, “and it was called `Who Can I Believe In?’ We felt that the melody was too European and didn’t work with the lyrics, so we asked Marco Marinangelli, who writes Italian lyrics for Josh Groban, to translate the words into Italian. It came out beautifully.” Sweet says she has always gravitated to the beautiful sounds of languages other than English. “I was classically trained beginning at the age of 11,” she says, “and that’s when I began to sing in other languages. It always came very easily to me.”

WE ARE ONE, then, is that rarest of musical experiences–a seamless emotional journey that deeply touches listeners of all ages with its beauty, grace, individuality, and courage. But perhaps to call Sweet courageous is overstating something that is really much simpler. “This music is not about me,” she says. “It’s about the soul in all of us. I am just happy to have a voice to convey these things to the world.”

And the world is certainly a better place because of it.


01. We Are One
02. Raincoat
03. Dream On
04. Caresse Sur L’Ocean
05. Crush
06. Ready For Love
07. Giorno Dopo Giorno
08. I Will Be Waiting
09. Now We Are Free
10. How ’bout You
11. Love Song
12. Je T’Aime